top of page

It’s Like Animal Crossings, But Make It Spooky: Cozy Grove First impressions


Intro: Conversations with dead people never felt so wholesome. Actually, these aren’t people, but bears. Hiding in plain sight are the memories of a bear's past. You, as a spirit scout, help the spirits of bears that have a tough time passing on through completing tasks and exploring the area.


Cozy, spooky, and very calming: This game is sweet, calming, and just a fun experience. I went into this game so excited and eager to play it since it is a lot like animal crossings, but more up my alley in the sense that there are ghosts. Cute ghosts inhabit Cozy Grove and our young spirit scout helps the inhabitants find their way. Whether that be to the afterlife or some bear, honey-filled heaven I’m not sure. While this game is like animal crossings, it's so different and a lot more relaxing in my opinion since, to an extent you have a time limit on how much you can get done within the time you sit down in a day to play. In this game, it truly feels like I am relaxing, whereas in animal crossings I feel like im hustling to get each task done in a certain amount of time that I lose an hour.

In Cozy Grove I spend about 30 minutes playing and that chink of time is what I need to feel rejuvenated to go on to my daily tasks. The game doesn’t burn you out, and this isn’t me “making a diss” on animal crossings since I LOVE the game, it's me saying that Cozy Grove mastered the art of relaxation. Spry Fox doesn’t force you to keep going, you have a few objectives and you may not be able to get everything you need for said object in the time you play so some items require that you wait a day.



A cup of coffee, a rainy day, a relaxing experience: Another thing I love about this game is how cute and well done the writing is. It sucked me into the story and made me feel genuinely happy. Adrenaline-filled games are great, and there is a time and place for that but some days I just want to sit down with a coffee, wrapped in a blanket, and let my mind decompress. This game relaxes me and makes me feel at ease. I would highly recommend picking up this game! It’s the dose of calm you need in your life.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page