top of page

The Battle of the demos: Resident Evil demo review


Intro: The world of gaming during the release of a game has become more diverse and strategic with many layers encompassing parts of its well-oiled machine, from game devs to graphic designers to the people who advertise the game on YouTube to the marketing person who brings it to your local stores like Best Buy and Wal-Mart. With all of these facets and parts working together for a release we have another part, a very final part that cements things. The demo. A game demo shows us a bit of the game where it gets players interested enough to watch a playthrough or purchase the game. What I want to know is how different are the demos from platform to platform.

My Xbox Run Of the Resident Evil Village Demo: My first play-through of the Resident Evil 8 demo was on the Xbox Series X. The controls got a major improvement from the previous installment. They were more precise, didn’t stall and the reload time was much faster in comparison to the 7th game. Even when shooting at an enemy, the precision of aim was excellent! The graphics were smooth, textured, and lifelike which added, of course to the immersion of the whole experience. The voice acting from what I’ve seen so far was well executed and beyond anything else believable. I hate when games hire voice acting that is subpar just to save time or money or even both. Overall, the experience on the Xbox Series X had no faults for me which I am very pleased about.


My PC Run of The Resident Evil Village Demo: what shocked me the most when I ran the demo of Resident Evil 8 on PC was that the graphic was almost better than they were on the Xbox Series X. an immersive reality, stunning visuals, and somehow the audio was better. I don’t know how this is since I was wearing the same pair of headphones for my PC run, as I was for my Xbox run. While the audio engineering is wonderful, and the graphic stunning there is a bit of a snag. The controls. I prefer mouse and keyboard since that’s what I am most accustomed to, but I truly hope Capcom puts in a patch for the control since they were laggy, the camera would catch on things (meaning I would have to move around my mouse so Ethan would look in a certain direction after the camera would get stuck) and when running away from one of the sisters the game stalled. So on PC, there may be the need for some patchwork, but overall my experience was not hindered by those things. The demo was still enjoyable on PC.

My Final Thoughts: Overall, the game runs better on Xbox than PC. Am I surprised that the audio and visuals were a tad better on PC, yes I am. I was truly taken aback by that and it has me questioning things that I will discuss at a later time. With all this in mind, I am very excited for the release of Resident Evil 8: Village coming out tomorrow! It feels like only yesterday we saw an article stating that it was in the works. Whatever version you get, whether it be on PC or console it's bound to have some bugs since there is no perfect play-through with a game. Some are detrimental to the completion of the game, some are so small you can’t even tell they are there and some are downright funny. Whatever bug you encounter I hope it doesn’t hinder your success in finding the secrets of the Umbrella Corporation.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page