top of page

Was this a risk worth taking? Resident Evil Six review

    When a company decides to take risks it will either fail or succeed beyond comprehension. With Resident Evil Six, the dev and creative team did something far from perfect. Now as allot of you know, I am a HUGE resident Evil fan. I have been playing the games since I was ten and am devoted to the storyline and over all gameplay and mechanics. But in this one, the mark was missed that there were only two things I really liked in the game, which normally doesn’t happen. Normally there are an array of things I like in the game and am able to see past “the blunders “if you will     So, Resident Evil Six, what do I say about resident evil six that hasn’t been said or reviewed already. In this game we have a belated wish of Mikamis that comes true, but not in the way that he probably would have hoped for. Originally Mikami wanted resident evil to be a multiplayer game, but since there wasn’t the right technology back in the early nineties to cerate a multiplayer game, Mikami had to set aside that dream, until now. With resident evil six being the most hated game in the resident evil franchise it’s no surprise that the resident evil returned to their roots for the seventh game. In the game resident evil six, I found the mechanics to be overall good, and the plotline was decent…I say that with a hesitant tone considering the fact that the storyline was very lightly continued in this game…it was almost nonexistent to the point of almost not making sense. This is due to the fact that this game series is not meant to be multiplayer. I don’t know how many times I have to explain it. I know allot of people dislike this game for other reasons, but the main one (which is the logical one) is that this game is a survival horror game. Not a shoot em-up multiplayer game. This is not gears of war, or call of duty. This series is known for being thought provoking, having tedious puzzles, and being generally scary. If this game weren’t multiplayer I feel like that would have made it allot better.     lets go over the most important part (I feel) that there is to discuss when it comes to this game. In the menu you have the choice to choose between a few characters to play. Leon or his partner Helena sherry Birkin or albert Weskers son, Jake or Ada wong. Now personally, I believe if the devs would have taken the time to combine and create the ENTIRE STORY into one game and not just bits of stories that you could play in parts it would have made the game at least 50% better. The plotline was choppy due to the game being split up into sections that you chose from and unless you are a die hard resident evil fan you wont choose the multitudes of ways there are to complete the game. As someone who has seen each part I will say, it is honestly fun to view each characters point of view, especially Ada’s, but then again I have a bias towards her. Each story has important pieces in it that are crucial in the continuation of the resident evil series. Even though, yes, it did take a quite interesting turn in resident evil seven, the plotline was stronger there then in the sixth game. For me, I am all about a strong plot line that can carry the game forward with mechanics that match it. But with this game, the mechanics were stronger than the actually story line. But here is where I will be contradicting myself. In resident evil seven we don’t have allot that really signifies (story wise at least) that this is a resident evil game.    I will be posting an article on resident evil seven to explain what I mean further, but in resident evil we have had the same characters carry the plot line for over 20 years, now we have a shift in the paradigm and a look into something deeper in the story. Maybe that’s why we have new characters with the same plot line. Like I said I will tackle this head on in my next review. overall, did I like resident evil six? No I did not. The plotline was choppy, and was trying to hard to stay relevant which the game devs didn’t have to do considering that resident evil is a classic series that will never go out of style or relevance. But, for those whom still want to purchase the game let me know what you think. DISCLAIMER: I am not telling you not to purchase, just offering up a recommendation AND my own insight into what I thought of the game. Like I said there were some parts that I liked, but overall this was a complete miss for me.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page